The inauguration was held on Monday, June 10, 2024 at the conference room of the  School of Biological Sciences, Federal University of Technology, Owerri.

Speaking on the occasion, the Dean, School of Biological Sciences, Prof. C. S Alisi noted that the Department was the first to have an Alumni Association inaugurated in the School and charged the Alumni leadership to  reach out to other  members across the world in order to achieve more as a group.

The Head, Department of Biotechnology, Prof. J. N Okereke expressed joy that    his aspiration as the Head of Department had come to fruition.

He listed some of the benefits derivable from being a member of an Alumni association, while commending  the leadership for their efforts so far, culminating to the successful inauguration.  

Earlier, the President of the Association, Mr. Agu Reuben thanked the University Management, School of Biological Sciences and the Department of Biotechnology for the great services rendered over the years.

He assured that the Association would provide valuable resources and networking opportunities, help Alumni members stay connected and give back to the Department and the University.

He announced that the Association was officially recognized by the Prof. Laz Uzoechi’s led National Executive Council of FUTO Alumni on April 13, 2024.

Agu hinted that the programmes of the Association would not only honour the cherished past but also pave way for a brighter future for members.

The Vice President of the Association, Dr. (Mrs.) Augusta Nwachukwu thanked the Dean of the School of Biological Sciences, the Head of Department and staff members of Biotechnology Department for their support towards the event.

She equally lauded Alumni members for their unwavering  commitment towards the project.

In their goodwill messages, Professor T.I.N. Ezejiofor and Dr. E. U. Ezeji who could not contain their joy, commended the Alumni members for being good ambassadors of the department.

The highpoint of the occasion was the presentation of certificate of recognition to the Association’s leadership.

Lecturers, Administrative staff and students witnessed the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *